Dookie

Disclaimer- I have been begging for suggestions and I didn’t get any, but never fear, because the crew at Writing 101 is here to help me, and you, know a little more about me.


1035x1035-greenday-1800-1397054610

Cover Art for “Dookie” by Green Day

I have shared here before that I am huge into music, and without it, I would be insane, right now. And it’s funny that, I don’t and can’t play any musical instruments to say a life or even a ferret dying on the street. But I have always had a passion for listening to music, and today, sadly, the music on the radio has dropped in quality so bad, that even people I used to like a lot, are turning terrible. I almost cry when, someone like Ellie Goulding goes from being one of my favorite singers, to El Generico Pop Singer 101.

But I don’t want to dwell on the present, so instead, how about we get into the magical device that, allows us to move backwards in time, shall we?

I shall go back in time, where my childhood with my family was good, but my school nightmares were not even half way done. My mom used to work at the school I graduated from, as part of the cafeteria staff; she was the supervisor of the mess hall, and she did a great job. Sadly, during the summer, she also had to work and we were dragged along to spend almost the whole week at times, just being at the school. That is right, my brother and I, in summer vacation, had to still be in that school. But I had my music with me, and that is what made most of that time, super tolerable. I would have access to the library, but I didn’t like to read, so I would just go there on my own, and just listen to music on my Sony Walkman CD player. This one, had anti-skip technology, and a Bass Boost switch; this was as good as music playing technology was at the time, and I was so happy of the skipping issues to be gone.

There was a piece of music, or an entire album, that I would listen to, during that time; over and over again, every day, and this would help so much to go through those boring days at my Hell of a school. It was Green Day; their album “Dookie”. To this day, I would rank that thing on my top 10 favorite albums off all time. I remember I would always get short glimpses of the music video for the song, “Basket Case”.  And back then, you didn’t have YouTube or the Internet or a service that would, allow you to view these videos all you want. You would just have to turn on MTV, and sit there, like a dumbass; and wait. And every time, I would catch the video near the end; ALL THE TIME!  So when I found out the name of the song, and the album it was in, I wanted my Mom to get me this album so bad, it would hurt to ask after all the time I would beg for it. She isn’t into rock music too much, and back then, she wasn’t into us listening to it, either. But she isn’t one of those people to not be understanding; in Puerto Rico, we would always be listening to her Spanish ballads and her music to and from school. And in our house, and wherever we would go as well; because the music that was played on MTV, didn’t have as much airplay as it does now.

So once I got that album, it was burned into my mind that summer, and the fall, and winter, and then next year, and then I wanted more punk or alternative music. Eventually got into grunge after that, along with pop rock and other popular types of music during that time, along with the other albums that Green Day released. Sadly their next albums didn’t repeat the magic of that album, since now they were going for a cleaner sound, more mature content, and didn’t sound as underground or punky as they had in the past. I don’t consider them sellouts, but in reality, I consider them to be the band that made punk music into a thing to be listened to on popular radio. Blink 182, The Offspring, and other popular punk bands have Green Day to thank for this, and this is why, that album, Dookie, is the piece of music that impacted me the most.

Most importantly, this led me to listen to other kinds of rock music out there that were not just heavier, but better in their creativity. I will always love Punk, Ska, Alternative, Grunge, and the older bands from the 90s, but I’ve moved past them and I’ve grown to like my music more growly, screamier (not a word, just go with it), and musically more advanced. And for that, I will mention the 10 songs that identify me right now, as a person. I am mostly a calm person, but that doesn’t last long since I’ve always been a hyper individual. And some are songs that start slow, and then just build into these majestic pieces of heavy music which is more progressive and artistic as what I would listen when I was younger. I hope you enjoy them.

  1. Green Day – “Basket Case”
  2. Nirvana – “Come As You Are”
  3. Metallica -“Battery”
  4. DreamTheater – “The Glass Prison”
  5. Periphery – “MAKE TOTAL DESTROY”
  6. Disperse – “AUM”
  7. Atreyu – “Becoming The Bull”
  8. CombiChrist – “Never Surrender”
  9. DeadMau5 – “Avaritia”
  10. Dark Tranquility – “The Fatalist”

 

Let me know what you guys think of my thoughts on this, and let me know what piece of music moved or moves you today. Also if you want to share suggestions of songs you identify with, share them too. I know you might be sharing them on the Commons, but if you are not, then let me know here.

14 comments

  1. Joana Salazar · November 21, 2015

    Music takes me to another place and also helps me ignore negative vibes around me.
    I agree with low quality of music being release today, they say music is evolving but for me it’s like to much noise or to much auto-tune, I just listen to a few artists now. I am also fond of listening to 90’s to early 2000’s songs. Songs from the past are so much better.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Fico · November 21, 2015

      Hehehe, I agree. Evolution is basically change over time; but what people don’t seem to always tell you is that not all change is good. Most is, but sometimes, it’s just not. I do listen to music that is new, but I don’t go for the mainstream. I go with other less known genres like djent and progressive metal. I enjoy those very much. 90’s will always have a spot for me in music. Kept me sane. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Chas Rad · November 21, 2015

    I was seriously just listening to Green Day the other day. Some off Dookie but mostly Nimrod for me.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Fico · November 21, 2015

      Nimrod was alright. I think there, they started heading to a more mainstream sound, or more like, a less punk themed album. Good Riddance (Time Off Your Life) is my high school song. And it was probably the same for thousands of seniors that year.

      Like

  3. Kathy · November 21, 2015

    Very nice. I’ve listened to songs over and over until I can recite them. I love music. All types. I did a list for my assignment. We don’t overlap but I like the first four songs on your list and want to check out s few I don’t recognize. Sometimes I know the song but not the title. Too much other stuff to cram into my brain. My son and I just played a Rockband marathon. I started the first playlist on keyboard but switched to bass for the second to play songs that don’t support keys. I play and sing and love it. My son also says “Mom, who sings this.” I tell him and his reply is “let’s keep it that way.” But I ignore him snd continue to sing. Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Fico · November 21, 2015

      Hehehehe. Your son is a funny dude. I’m happy that the two of you are playing video games together. Rock Band is always a fun thing. I had the first and second games. The Gaming Party post is inspired by the many gatherings my co-workers and me did and played.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Kathy · November 22, 2015

        Lol – we do joke around. We have all the Rockband discs except the newest one and many of the Guitar Hero games. Even my daughter plays guitar. Bummed that the new Rockband doesn’t have keyboard. It’s a family game for us.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Fico · November 22, 2015

        I wouldn’t worry, since if the game picks up again, they will get the keyboard made as well.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. beingmepresently · November 21, 2015

    Some good music there. As a nineties teenager and a female I was a massive Alanis fan. Jagged Little Pill being the album for me. I still love her to this day and how she has evolved as a woman. Music tells our stories. X

    Liked by 1 person

    • Fico · November 21, 2015

      I loved Alanis. I remember the Lilith Fair movement when her ( I think) and Jewel, Dido, Natalie Merchant and a bunch of female fronted bands and adult alternative acts got so big, they had their own festival. They exploded. Alanis was mega awesome then. I haven’t heard her much lately, but I will give her a listen to see how she has evolved.

      Liked by 1 person

      • beingmepresently · November 21, 2015

        She’s not released anything for 3 years or so but hopefully soon. I’m a big Jewel fan too. Jewel’s biography just came out and Alanis’s is being released early next year. X

        Liked by 1 person

      • Fico · November 21, 2015

        I was shocked Jewel released an album. Just out of nowhere.

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: 3 Days 3 Quotes Day 2 | The Great Journey
  6. Pingback: This Is Not the End…It’s Only the Beginning |

Leave a Reply

