December 31st 2014. Good Things are Coming.

10882169_10155020692005346_1906359033801483503_n

Signs of a good year ahead.

Today’s task is for Day 16 of Writing 101. This is to find an old post and write about whether you feel the same, or different, and what was also your perspective on the post. This is, of course, me paraphrasing. 

Last year, in 2014, it wasn’t a good year for me in all aspects. It was a very “meh” year where I dropped productivity on my YouTube channel, I gained a lot of the lost weight back, and I didn’t grow anywhere in my job. And during that year, I found many bad things happening on social-media as well. The good things about these kind of networks are that you can find out what is going on; but also find out the other side, the brutal reality of the harshness of the world. But sometimes, you find something near the end of the year, that makes you smile and offers, a glimmer of hope for the year to come.

Above is a picture of something I found on Facebook on the last day of the year, where my local supermarket franchise Publix, would offer spousal privileges to same-sex couples. And since now, gay marriage is legal on every state here in the US, it means that you now have equal rights as Publix employees as well. This isn’t a huge massive, wave clearing event like the legalization of homosexual marriage; but it was a great thing none the less. I felt joy for them, because in the world I live in, I fear for their safety and their lives; since they deal with an unusual enemy of false perception and fear. Fear of the unknown, of your kids catching the “gay”, of AIDS running rampant because the queers are having sex with the planet. Unjustified, irrational, and completely fact-less claims, only pushed down by either homophobic people, or religious people, or both.

I lived in Puerto Rico almost all my life and, homosexuality wasn’t something I witness much. While as here, they were in many places, and I was taken off at first only because, this was the reality of things and I never knew that. My culture is a very macho, tough, manly man culture and gay men that live in Puerto Rico, aren’t much as beaten as they are made a joke. They joke about the queer that talked to them; not the gay person or the homosexual, but the queer. Like it was nothing. They mostly lack the information and I know that most don’t hate people; but they don’t understand them. I am not gay; yes it’s unbelievable a straight man like me can be so supportive to them I know, splash water on your face; it’s real.

Since learning about the injustices that lesbians, gay men, transgender and bisexual people go through, and the reasons for them, I started getting angry. And the more I heard it was happening, I was just fed up; I want people to know I care about them, and I haven’t done enough yet; but I spread awareness every bit I can. My Mom and me spoke about it and she told me that she wouldn’t want someone to deny her the right to be, with who she wanted to be with; why would she get in your face and tell you, you can’t be with this person? My Mom is more forward thinking than most people that “deal” with gay people all the time. As I said, it’s not something that is seen much there, until I noticed the gay pride parades, and the legalization of gay marriage there as well. Sadly, before then, I saw a march for “traditional” marriage; biblical marriage. God made Adam and Eve, not Adam and Steve…that bullshit. In my country! We are a mostly Catholic nation, and I don’t think the default position is hate; but rather, misunderstanding, disapproval, and lack of empathy. I would talk more about it, but that is another topic.

So why am I sharing this with you all? Why all the talk about me and a position I couldn’t possibly relate to directly? And what does that have to do with my Day 16 assignment? Because I am a human being with empathy, understanding and I’m informed. I don’t go with my gut feeling if something requires a little research. If you did, you would see that a gay person is as normal as me. As you, and as everyone that posts blogs here. And understanding that is important for the future, because after this year, 2015, things can only go up from here for the LGBT, and for society in general. Acceptance for your fellow mankind is important, and what I said here, is only a fraction of what I feel.

I wanted to share this because my position hasn’t changed in this at all. My perspective at the time was to let people who are hateful, bigoted and without reason know, that the ways of your approaches will vanish, and are not tolerated. You can express yourself whichever way you want, and we won’t prohibit you to express your views; but we do not have to agree, or accept them because they are your opinions. I think things will continue to improve, and continue to get better and what is better for a large amount of the population, is great for the entire human species, as a whole. And that, is what I felt then in the last day of 2014…

…and today.


Well that was a lot of writing! Thank you guys for following my blog and I also encourage you all to express your thoughts, and share this with someone that is going through these times. Things have gotten better, but things are still in the works. Contact Me personally, if you want to share personal thoughts, and if you have any experiences you want others to see as well, share them below. Thank you guys. Love Wins. 🙂

 

4 comments

  1. petitewise · November 24, 2015

    I think, like you, I can’t personally relate to it, but I can empathize with the struggles that people of the LGBTQ[…] community go through. If the opposite were true, as in heterosexuality was NOT the norm, and homosexuality WAS, if I couldn’t display my affection, felt like my loved ones couldn’t support me in my innate heterosexuality, and was not given the same legal rights, I would probably lose my shit. Honestly.

    The holidays can be very frustrating for me because I am put in contact with a side of my family that is not supportive of gay rights, and I am caught between trying to educate them and just shutting up because I know I can’t change how they think. I don’t want to ruin the holidays for my family.

    Anyway, thank you for your candidness in sharing. Always appreciated, and keep writing! You’re great at it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Fico · November 24, 2015

      Thank you so much! Really appreciate it! And I’m sorry to hear that about your family. The irony is that, you have just described a great way to relate this to them as well. I’m sure you’ve tried but it is true; you wouldn’t want people to not be allowed to love, whoever you wanted. If they were told that, they couldn’t be with the opposite sex because being gay was the “normal”, and the opposite was immoral, they would lose their shit as well. It’s often funny how people cannot put themselves in this position. I’m sure your family is not operating from a stand point of hatred; they just need more information, and also to be made more aware. Human beings are natural bonded to others, and feel empathy is their brains can process this. Some can’t, but those are psychos. But most people can relate, to some degree. If they can even feel an inch of compassion for the LGBT struggles, then I bet it can grow from there ;).

      Liked by 1 person

  2. petitewise · November 24, 2015

    Exactly. It’s not that they hate – they just can’t relate. Haha, whoo that rhymed!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Fico · November 25, 2015

      You write so good…you don’t even try 😛

      Like

Leave a Reply

