Anecdotes Of A Frustrated Gamer

Disclaimer- For day 18 of Writing 101, I tackle anecdotes. I just found out this afternoon what an anecdote is, so if this post sucks, and you don’t like it…I’m sorry. I’m not verse in these writing styles, but I’m learning them. We shall see if the help of the Writing 101 community came in handy.  Hope you like it!


2015-11-19_00004

You will die. Many times, human. 

I step into the Wasteland and I got into this building, this warehouse depot and there is nothing on sight. I notice a Feral Ghoul on the 2nd floor, and then after this one notices me, like ten more Ghouls, including a Legendary Ghoul, shows up and swamp me. Dead.

I go into this like spot, it’s a shopping mall, and I know this place is going to be, filled with either Super Mutants or Raiders. It was Raiders. So me and my companion sniper, McCready, go in and just start killing each one. Some where armed with guns, other with molotovs, others with blunt objects. We get rid of them all; except I still hear one more. Lobs a grenade from the roof and kills me; and then it takes 7 more tries and they didn’t come close to this first one. Dead.

I step into this factory, overrun by Ghouls, so I take them out, me and Cogsworth (my Mr. Handy butler). And we fulfill our quest and we are stepping out. TWO legendary Mire Lurks get in front of the entrance and we can’t get out. Cogsworth is down. Mire Lurks are basically giant mutated crab monsters, and their weak point…for maximum damage; is nowhere! So they get stuck on the staircase, and I can kill them one at a time. Until the game crashes. Dead

I am trying to save my partner in crime, a fan of the Silver Shroud. I took the position of the Silver Shroud, a crime fighter he used to announce on the radio. And he brought it back through me. And I played him wearing his costume, killing Raiders and leaving my calling card. And then Sinjin, a massive Ghoul raider meets me with my friend, captured; in this hospital riddled with Raiders. So I take this last elevator and I need to save him. Sadly, he kills my friend. And I don’t want that! So I restarted from the last checkpoint…17 times. Dead x 17.

Day One. I am hyped. I preloaded the game into Steam and I’m ready. I’m a little scared since Day One releases are normally broken in today’s game industry. But I was sure that Bethesda, the makers of Fallout 4, were not going to do this. First boot, set to Ultra settings; runs beautifully. For 15 minutes. Dead.

Load it again, and after a few minutes…dead.

This goes on for an hour. Dead. FUCK THIS GAME!

When even the game dies on me…there is no hope for me. Help me! I’m dying! Of anger!


Well I hope this wasn’t too bad, and all this was true, by the way. Since then, game is back up and doesn’t crash; often. I’ve had 1-2 crashes since, but not like Day One. Why don’t you share with me your frustrating moments of death with whatever game you want. And if you don’t play video games, why don’t you tell me of an experience that keep repeating similar to dying a lot in games like, how I described. Take care!

 

 

11 comments

  1. amanpan · November 25, 2015

    I like it and you captured the idea. Well done.

    Like

  2. thegeneviever · November 26, 2015

    Hey! Love this good job! My experience with fallout was very frustrating! I mostly watch my spouse play games but I just had to get in on this one. While he was away at work I stated up the game on ps4 sometimes I get scared and I’m not the best shooter. I killed all these raiders I was so happy to go tell the small settlement I saved the day! I arrive and I’ve been booted out someone else logged in as my user. I don’t understand why is this happening!! I log back in I just want to win! Boots me out only this time I’m locked out of all the games! I don’t even know how many games an uncountable amount! Psn hacked bought and sold. Called the company and they won’t disconnect whoever as primary so we can get on for 6 months!!! Sold everything Sony we own… I feel violated I’m having a hard time wanting to get back into it now I have to start completely over.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Fico · November 26, 2015

      Oh man. What a bunch of losers they are. That sucks :(. My advice? Get a PC and play it on that platform. You would have to start over, but the game is already pretty fun as it is, you won’t feel like it’s a tedious chore to get back to where you were. Steam and other platforms are much better at dealing with this, than Sony.

      Liked by 1 person

      • thegeneviever · November 26, 2015

        Yea, that’s exactly what we did. I’m nowhere near where I was and I didn’t spend as much time picking out the perfect shade of lipstick for my player. We got xbox one controllers and sold everything and anything that said Sony. I’m so disappointed with that company. It’s a great game might be a gateway drug for me back into gaming!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Fico · November 26, 2015

        It’s not a bad place to be ;). And the community is super awesome, overall. Sony is a sinking ship that, only has PlayStation holding them up float. If you read into their financial status, everything else not PlayStation, is either gone or going away. They have always had a no fucks given attitude.

        Liked by 1 person

      • thegeneviever · November 26, 2015

        So far so good, there’s some decent perks to go with pc gaming like if there is a glitch its can be fixed as opposed to a game breaking bug one my experience on a console. I leave mist the gaming stuff to my sweetie he’s the remote master lol. Such a shame though they could do so much better.

        Like

      • Fico · November 26, 2015

        Indeed than can. But you have the best of gaming, I think. And if you get into gaming again, you can get into modding. And that would make your games looks and play even better. Check out the YouTuber named Gopher. He is a mod builder and teaches you, step by step, slowly, on how to get into the intimidating, but not so bad world of modding. It’s farking cool!

        Liked by 1 person

      • thegeneviever · November 26, 2015

        Neat I’ll check it out! Thanks!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Fico · November 26, 2015

        😉

        Like

  3. Pingback: This Is Not the End…It’s Only the Beginning |

Leave a Reply

