Ramey Delight- Ice Cream and Games

For this edition of Writing 101, I will be offering my experiences of a wonderful place that, is not longer available. Instead, the place is now a restaurant that is selling, well, the same food that you can find in 5 others now, when you go to Puerto Rico. The place is called Ramey Delight, and it was awesome! It was a hole in the wall, in the corner of a small shopping center in front of my former college. This place was a video arcade, along with an ice cream parlor, and a pool table place as well. For some reason my Mom didn’t wanted me to go to the back where all the adults were playing pool. Are we talking “The Color of Money” sort of dealings?

But whatever, pool was lame at the time; video games were the shit! This was the place where I first played Street Fighter 2, Mortal Kombat, Killer Instinct, The Simpsons Arcade Game, Galaga, and a bunch of others. There are tons of reasons why I loved going here but the 3 most important ones are as follows.

  1. Ice Cream, Video Games, and Fun. I rarely got ice cream when I wanted it and whenever it came to the home, Mom and Dad wouldn’t buy it all the time. But it’s not like I didn’t eat good whenever I was living with them. Anyway, ice cream was a thing for me and this place has some of the best strawberry ice cream, ever. Loved the waffle cones that would cocoon the sweet goodness of that pink colored delight. Oh my! But also, the video games there were not like now; you couldn’t play them here in the comfort of your home. Some games took time before you could play them in your console, and some didn’t offer the same amount of graphics, or even the same experience. Whereas now, the graphics dwarf these arcades, and also; you don’t have to keep paying money to play each time…for the most part. Damn you micro transactions.
  2. Escape. My trip to the Ramey Delight was one of joy, fun, and excitement. Except this wasn’t one of these places I would see often. Which meant that I would be stuck going to school all the time. This place, this Hell; my old school, drove me insane to the point that right now, I would strangle each person that made my life a living Hell there. Which made the times I would enjoy there, all the more precious to me. Me and my bro would go and have a great time, and I think he liked it as well, but he didn’t play as much as me, and now, not even at all. But I think this was a sanctuary; a real church for me. A place where I felt I belonged and also a place where I wasn’t being bullied or being told how retarded I was. No one knew me there, and it was great.
  3. Isolation For Practice and Peace. As I said, time outside those walls were pretty bleak and not all the fun. Except when I was with people playing video games as well. And I had the time of my life. I would spend time there and it would also allow me to hone my skills in certain games. I know that I wouldn’t be able to perform a Shoryuken at all, if it wasn’t for the skills I learned at the arcade. Even though this place wasn’t a piece place for the most part, it was an enjoyable place to have fun, which is more than I could say for the other places I was dragged to.

I wanted to keep this one gaming related, but also wanted to share with you guys a little more about me. With arcades dying, or at least not available as much; do you have memories of these places? If you do, share them. Where? And how often would you be taken there? Take care guys! The map shows Ramey Bakery, but it’s just because the place is no longer there, and this bakery still is. It’s in the same plaza. The bakery is badass as well.

 

8 comments

  1. Chas Rad · November 25, 2015

    Sorta reminds me of this place that had arcade games along with your traditional other games that are usually at arcades (skee ball, that basketball shooting thing) but it also had go-karts, mini-golf, and a batting cage. It was great for young me, but alas, it is now a Raymour & Flanigan (furniture outlet).

    Liked by 1 person

    • Fico · November 25, 2015

      Furniture. How depressing. Hehe.

      Like

  2. Mati Serrano · November 25, 2015

    Love ice cream!
    But can’t say what flavor is my favorite. Kinda depends on my mood.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Fico · November 25, 2015

      I see! What flavor a match your mood? Do you notice you gravitate towards a flavor based on moods? My go-to ones after strawberry is chocolate, mint and cookies, vanilla, pistachio and when I go to a gelato place…limits are off!

      Like

      • Mati Serrano · November 25, 2015

        Even I can’t say. For example, it could be the same mood but I’d end up liking a different flavor now than before.
        Here we have flavors like melon, ube, and avocado. A favorite ice cream store makes limited edition wild flavors, like champorado (chocolate rice porridge), leche flan, and tikoy (Chinese sticky rice cake).

        Liked by 1 person

      • Fico · November 25, 2015

        Wow! Those sound insanely good! I love stores where they make their own ice cream. I can make my own home made as well, but it can be a bit of a hassle. I have had passion fruit gelato as well, and I really enjoy their coffee ones. And I hate coffee! But it works on ice cream.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Mati Serrano · November 26, 2015

        Same here! Their ideas may be mixes of hits and misses but they can make what they want. They could be current, even hip!
        You make your own ice cream?! That’s cool. I was able to make my own strawberry sherbet by accident. I couldn’t make it again.
        I have that love-hate relationship with cheese. Love cheese in most of its forms but, as ice cream, it just doesn’t seem to work for me.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Fico · November 26, 2015

        I can understand. Yeah I learned to make it a few years ago when I was married; my ex gave me an ice cream machine and I’ve used it from time to time. Not as much now, but when I did, I would take a recipe from that ice cream book; and bam! I then started experimenting but that phase never quite, got of the ground hehe.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

