My Still Unnamed Gaming Music #2

 

Fo4_Original_Game_Soundtrack_cover

Taken from Fallout 4 Wikia Page

Sorry about not posting yesterday. I am going to be explaining in my next post a little more in detail, about that. I wasn’t feeling too well and while I am feeling a bit better now, I need to focus more on trying to get a new job ASAP. But I will try to get posts onto the blog, whenever I can. 


I’ve talked about the gameplay, done creative writing using this game, and I’ve also made a letter from the perspective of someone dying on the Wasteland, helping another person out to the Wasteland on their first day. But if ever play Fallout 3, New Vegas or, 4; you will get a Pip-Boy. This wrist-mounted computer gives you your vitals, your inventory, your map, and your tapes and letters. But most importantly, this is your radio. Because a man or woman traveling in these places will need the sanity calming sounds of good old timey music and from what I’ve been listening on Diamond City Radio, it’s got great music. I’m here to highlight my favorite tracks from that station, and share what I think of each of them.

Disclaimer- I haven’t heard enough of the original soundtrack to offer opinions of the Classical Music Station since, Diamond City Radio is so addicting I never change it. I can definitely say that the original music is really good. Full orchestrations playing ominous music with low tunes; as if giving the player the feeling that, even on a sunny day, you are still in a place of death. When you go into battle, the tempo changes and violins start revving up when you are taking people out with V.A.T.S, or with your dog; or with a weapon you made.


#1 “Dear Hearts and Gentle People” by Bob Crosby and the Bobcats

I absolutely love this song! I don’t know if it’s the horns on this track, the catchy melody and tempo from this track, or the harmonies from the Bobcats. I love the song because it focuses on talking about living into a happy-go-lucky neighborhood and it’s kind and loving people. But it’s totally not in the game, for the most part. I first caught this song on the Fallout New Vegas first official Trailer, and it’s in both New Vegas and Fallout 4.

#2 “The Wanderer” by Dion and The Belmonts

This song shows it’s swing on the Fallout 4 TV commercial and extended commercial trailer. This song’s subject is about a wanderer looking for pretty girls. That is basically it! He wonders from town to town, sees pretty ladies, and wants them. And since our Vault Dweller is kind of a wanderer himself; ladies will go crazy. The Belmonts during the entire song are doing their harmonies and it is so catchy. The chorus is my favorite, and the horns again in this track are very catchy as well. Many of these old timey songs have trumpets and saxophones that add punch to the music. So nice!

#3 “The End Of The World” by Skeeter Davis

“Don’t THEY KNOW…It’s the EEEEENNNDD of the WORLD!” Emo bands have nothing about sadness and depression compared to Skeeter Davis. When she starts asking about the birds, the stars, the waves and her heartbeat, only to affirm that her world ended when she lost her love one. This song was written for her by Arthur Kent and Sylvia Dee; this was something they cooked up from Skeeter’s sorrow from losing her father. The sad piano during the entire first part, the slow twangs of a banjo, and the backup singers all combined with the saddest lyrics ever; make this a perfect song for the game. It is literally the end of the world, of course.

#4 “Orange Colored Sky” by Nat King Cole

Full jazz, baby. I don’t listen to Nat King Cole, but I’ve heard his name from time to time. And this track is really relaxing, but existing as well since, when the horns hit, the song goes in full blast. The rest of the time, the piano and large bass make this song about love hitting him in the eye; like a bomb going up and leaving the sky all orange. Love hits hard in this track, indeed Nat.

#5 “Undecided” by Ella Fitzgerald

This might be one of the most happiest sounding songs, but the theme isn’t really a happy one. It’s basically Ella singing about her frustrations of doing things with a man that is very indecisive. Basically me :P. But the bang comes swinging in this one, and it’s one of the most upbeat songs of the soundtrack. Ella, of course, kills the singing, especially near the end. I guess this is a pretty good song in the game, because there is a lot to do in this game as it is, you can’t decide from one to another.

#6 “I Don’t Want To See The World On Fire” by The Ink Spots

This is a love song. But this was the song playing in the reveal trailer for Fallout 3, 10 years ago. And this is a very haunting melody when you play it next to that trailer. But in reality, The Ink Spots sing about starting a flame in a girl’s heart, but not catch the whole world as well. Only a simple guitar strumming in the background, with the Ink Spots humming and singing make this folkie track, one of my favorites. Lyrically, this is one of the best ones.

#7 “Right Behind You, Baby” by Ray Smith

Rockabilly singer Ray Smith brings this track about well, chasing after someone. I’m assuming it’s a girl, but that is only because it seems like all these songs are about ladies ;). Basically inspired by Elvis Presley, the song might be the most energetic, and combined with the swinging piano and the band jamming to Ray’s very energetic voice, you feel like chasing someone with this track. So do it in the game…there is a lot of chasing there ;).


 

If you guys want a complete tracklist of everything that is in the game, there is a Fallout 4 Wikia page I will be linking here so you can see what are the other tracks in the game, along with the tracklist for both Classical Music Radio, Diamond City Radio and the normal soundtrack.

Fallout 4 Soundtrack

Let me know what you guys think! Any other songs from the other games your favorite? Or do any of these songs remind you of another song you like? Let me know below! Take care guys!

 

3 comments

  1. Chas Rad · December 2, 2015

    Heck yes! “Dear Hearts!” I had a friend who was super into Fallout 3 and he played this song all the time.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Fico · December 2, 2015

      Whenever I heard music like that, I’m always now thinking; this would be great in an add-on for the game.

      Like

  2. Pingback: He’s The One; I Know It’s Mad | The Rad Blog

Leave a Reply

