Lost In The Static

maxresdefault

The mirror I stare at shows the image of a man.
Or is it a boy, pretending to be an adult?
I see good qualities in this reflection.
But my true self, gets lost in the static.

The crowds do not see me...they see a blank
silhouette of a person. Like white noise in the 
background. I wonder if they truly see the man
in the mirror; or the after image from a
TV screen. An image lost in the static of life.

I wear my hoodies for comfort; to others I look
like trouble. The sounds of sires and men of 
law, respect and duty see me. What do they see?
A man of respect as them? Or the static man looking
to break the world of reality?

What do I do? Pretend I'm one of the technicolor drones?
Or use this skin as protection? Not being seen hurts;
but also keeps you safe. So what is my choice?
Do I break free from the chains of invisibility?

Or remain lost...in the static.

This started with a song title from the band, After The Burial. Their latest song was the inspiration for this little gem. To me, we all try to be something important in life, but sometimes we disappear among the crowds. And sadly, sometimes when you look a little different, you get the cops called on you. In my case, it was what lead me to never go into Best Buy again.

What do you guys think? Does any of this feel familiar? Does it resonate in any way? I would like to know. If you want to share anything personal, you can message me on the Contact Me section of the blog in the SideBar. Take care guys!

spotify:track:6iGXUJW99KAwbRiwxIjKPU

5 comments

  1. Deb · December 9, 2015

    I think you are very insightful, a result unfortunately from experience. I like it!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Fico · December 9, 2015

      Thank you, Deb. It was an unfortunate moment, but lucky for me, it could have been much worse. Thank you for following me as well. I am very inexperienced with poetry. This is only the 2nd thing I’ve written for not just the course; I’ve had this thing about poetry. Not really been the best times for me.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Deb · December 9, 2015

        Well then you did excellent for your second time. Let your feelings flow through your poems and I think you will enjoy it.

        Like

  2. beingmepresently · December 9, 2015

    What other people think does not matter – as long as you are comfortable in yourself. Don’t listen to people’s judgements unless you have asked for that opinion. X

    Liked by 1 person

    • Fico · December 9, 2015

      It took a very long time for me to do that. I wanted approval and acceptance for so long. I finally have that from people that I care about. I realize how silly it was back then. I could be judged regardless, but I just won’t care anymore.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

