The Torture is Almost Over

“A man who dares to waste one hour of time has not discovered the value of life.” ― Charles Darwin, The Life & Letters of Charles Darwin

the_time_traveler_by_xetobyte

The Time Traveler by Xetobyte

 

It was finally the big day; 13 years in the making.

I wake up the countdown begins, the day going forwards now.

A difficult, frustrating, and almost torturing journey is about to end.

However the day, doesn’t go fast. Seconds tick on and on and the moment doesn’t arrive.

I don’t remember many things, because most was just mundane everyday life stuff.

Waking up, eating with my family, talking with them on the phone, seeing my brother.

Morning is slow like turtles taking the time to win races against rabbits.

Second after second, I want the day to be over so I can say goodbye to bad memories.

The moment is near, as I travel to the stage where this show will begin soon.

As I’m on my way, my blue chariot is impacted by a smaller silver one.

And it too, heads right into another parked one, and it’s mayhem.

My impact was a graze, and physically I’m OK. The others are OK.

Even then, time slowed down even more; like it wanted to keep me from

finishing this punishing journey of mental turbulence.

Police leave. Everyone is OK. No one is hurts. I enter the arena once more to do one more battle.

It is not merely any arena, but it’s also a prison; where thoughts are limited and obedience rules.

All dressed in wine and gold, we marched one by one, at the sound of each released prisoner’s name.

And mine came up, second after second it winded down to this. To acquire my release papers.

After that, it was over. The timer ran to zero, and I was finally done with my journey.

My next adventure was on the horizon, and I feel better times are coming.

No more sadness, or disappointment, or rules that are in place for reasons unknown.

Time to start to become, what I am today…a functional, slightly normal adult. Slightly that is.

Countdown started thirteen years before that day. And it is now over.

Elementary, middle and high school. Levels of a prison, now out of my mind.

To never return.

Ever.


This was the first day of my life. Really. I think we can all relate to this day, right? If things were bad during that time, we want to just go on with it and be done. And that particular day was a little exciting to say the least.

So what do you guys think? Was your time during high school feel like this? Like the seconds ticked and things wouldn’t get better? And did you feel great when it was over? Do you miss it? Let me know.

Take care, guys.

 

14 comments

  1. Susan · December 12, 2015

    Great poem about how slowly time can pass especially while in school. 🙂

    Like

    • Fico · December 12, 2015

      Thank you. Time was slow there. College was much faster. Which is sad, because I had a blast there, hehehe.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Kathy · December 12, 2015

    I hated high school but went right into college. If I could go back I would do things differently. I guess with age wisdom can come. My son is a junior and can’t wait to get out of school and join the Marines. I try to tell him to slow down, enjoy this time. Adult life can suck. He sees how we struggle and the stress of my work. I don’t know – flip a coin because there’s good and bad of worth times of life.

    Nicely done. I liked your descriptions.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Fico · December 12, 2015

      Thank you! And you are right. And I will feel old saying this, but they don’t know what is coming. Mostly it’s because responsibility comes and then the time to have fun is shorten and well, they’ll want to go back there. Really can’t stay there forever, but to me, I’ll take now more than then.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Kathy · December 12, 2015

    *not worth…both

    Like

  4. ClarissaG · December 12, 2015

    I’m glad to say I don’t remember much of high school, just the stress of staying on top academically and stress of drama-filled relationships. I liked your poem, it was very well written. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Fico · December 12, 2015

      Thank you! I’m glad that you liked it! Sorry to hear that. It is filled with drama, and teacher drama, and outside school drama. I liked staying home and not go out with my old classmates. Although, it would get lonely at times. I did have a few good people from the group, and they hanged with me good.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. beingmepresently · December 12, 2015

    I’m also glad that school days are over! Great poem. X

    Liked by 1 person

    • Fico · December 12, 2015

      Thank you! I do miss college. But yes. School gone forever. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Ngobesing Romanus · December 13, 2015

    Yes. Those moments in life come when you want the clock to tick fast; for the seconds and minutes and hours to be on their feet but they tend to imitate rather the snail. You have done a great job here and I appreciate it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Fico · December 13, 2015

      Thank you so much! I really appreciate it and also for sharing those words with me, as well.

      Like

Leave a Reply

